INFLUENCING PUBLIC DISCOURSE

Leading and influencing public discourse is not a one size fits all approach. I embrace the idea that discourse is always a possibility and everyone is a target for conversation. As a native New Yorker, I recall impromptu conversations that occur on the street, the train, the bus, or the local deli about hot button topics that were circulating mass media or the very streets of NYC.

In this course I think we have many more avenues of influencing public discourse to explore and uncover. I am thinking immediately of social media, with the rapid changes in Facebook, it remains my primary mode of engaging those within my network about relevant issues related to my Grand Challenge. Facebook was the launching pad for my organization, as the option to start a group spread rapidly and within two days there were over 3000 members all engaging in the discussion around racism and police brutality. In class we acknowledge Twitter but I believe Facebook is also a strong contender.

I also enjoy the “old school” approach to discourse, canvassing and Door to Door knocking. This summer I did an internship with MoveOn.org and one of my assignments was to do canvassing. I thoroughly enjoyed the face to face conversations with local residents about issues that affect our community!

What about you? What are some unconventional ways of influencing public discourse that you have tried?

Author: leadingpublicdiscoursetiffanyllewellyn

Hi everyone! Thanks for visiting my blog. I am a Doctoral Student at the University of Southern California. The purpose of this blog is for me to interact and dialogue with you, yes you! The focus of my blog is geared around my Grand Challenge, Achieving Racial Justice for Blacks in America. I am looking forward it, let's talk it out! :)

Leave a comment